Your Location: | Change Location
Your Location: | Change Location

Announcements, Community, Issues, News, Transport, Transport

Fog woes:Railways cancel 26 trains for a month from December 17

New Delhi:The announcement made on Sundaythat at least 26 trains is likely to add to the woes of passengers going to New Delhi and other long distance destinations.

The trains have been running inordinately late for the last few weeks due to dense fog in Bihar and Uttar Pradesh, would be cancelled once a week for a month from December 17 to January 15 in order to restore their punctuality.

Sampoorna Kranti Express,The Rajdhani Express, Sampoorna Kranti Expres,Patna-Howrah Janshatabdi,Patna-Ranchi Janshatabdi , Anand Vihar-Danapur Express and Saharsa-Amritsar Express are among the 26 trains that will be cancelled.

It has also cancelled seven mail/express trains originating/terminating/passing through ECR zone for a month.

In the meanwhile 32 passenger trains plying in various divisions of the zone have also been cancelled for two months.

Fog disruptions leads to cancellations of thousands of trains every year and several accidents have been reported during the season in previous years.

The statement release by East Central Railway chief public relations officer as follows :

As per the weekly cancellation schedule, the Patna-New Delhi Rajdhani Express (12309) will remain cancelled on Tuesday and New Delhi-Patna Rajdhani Express (12310) will not ply on Wednesday. The Rajendranagar-New Delhi Sampoorna Kranti Express will remain cancelled on Wednesday and will not run from the national capital on its return journey on Thursday.

The Howrah Janshatabdi (12024) that shuttles between Patna and Howrah every day except Sunday will remain cancelled on Thursday on both up and down routes. Patna-Ranchi Janshatabdi (12365) that runs daily will not run on Friday every week. The Saharsa-Amritsar Express (15209) will not run on Sunday and on its return journey, the train (15210) will not ply on Friday.

As many as 16 trains were running late on Sunday. They include 12402 Magadh Express (14 hours late), 13008 Toofan Express (16 hours), 15484 Mahananda Express (20 hours), 14056 Brahmaputra Mail (11 hours), 12394 Sampoorn Kranti Express (22 hours), 12392 Shramjeevi Express (15 hours), 15635 Dwarka Express (9 hours), 13484 Farakka Express (18 hours) and 12424 Dibrugarh Rajdhani Express (9 hours), 13007 Toofan Express (2 hours), 12331 Himgiri Express (11 hours), 15645 Lokmanya Tilak Express (3 hours), 12317 Akal Takht Express (8 hours), 12303 Poorva Express (10 hours), 13258 Jan Sadharan Express (18 hours) and 13238 Kota-PNBE Express (28 hours).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Democracy is heritage of country & shouldn’t be taken lightly: PM Modi

July 1, 2019

PM Modi resumes ‘Mann Ki Baat’ after a gap of three months. PM says 2019 … More Democracy is heritage of country & shouldn’t be taken lightly: PM Modi »